skip navigation

NOVA Nine Team: Ludowig Named Player of the Year, Miller is Coach of the Year

By Joey Kamide, 06/16/17, 12:45PM EDT


Millerludowig smallJune 16 - Briar Woods senior Michael Ludowig has been named the magazine’s NOVA Nine Player of the Year, and Falcons skipper Jason Miller was selected as the Coach of the Year after the pair led the Ashburn school to the 5A state championship.

An outfielder and left-handed pitcher who will play at Wake Forest University, Ludowig follows Oakton’s Joe Rizzo (2015) and Battlefield’s Jake Agnos (2016) in being selected as Player of the Year from the magazine’s coverage area of over 80 schools in Arlington, Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, Prince William, Spotsylvania and Stafford counties.

The NOVA Nine Team, Player of the Year, and Coach of the Year are selected by the magazine's 44-member selection committee consisting of coaches and members of the media.

Miller, in his seventh season as the coach at Briar Woods, led the Falcons to a sweep of the Conference 14, North Region and state championships. He follows Madison’s Mark ‘Pudge’ Gjormand (2015) and Chantilly’s Kevin Ford (2016) as Coach of the Year honorees in the NOVA Nine Team’s three-year history.

Joining Ludowig on the team are Oakton teammates Ryan Davis and Owen Lamon, who will both play at Georgetown University after leading the Cougars to 6A Conference 5 and North Region championships. Langley’s Danny Hosley, the 6A North Region Player of the Year, was also selected, as was Kettle Run’s Will Merriken, who swept the 4A Conference 22, West Region and State Player of the Year awards. Hosley will attend the University of Northern Colorado, where he hopes to walk on, and Merriken will play at Roanoke College.

Spotsylvania’s Daniel Brooks, the 3A Conference 26 and East Region Player of the Year who will play for George Mason University, was also selected, as were Madison’s Joey Goldsmith, Osbourn Park’s Kyle Whitten and Potomac School’s Carter Bosch. Goldsmith will play for a Florida junior college, St. Johns River State College, while Whitten will pitch for the University of Virginia.

Bosch was the lone underclassmen selected and remains uncommitted as to where he will play collegiately.

To view this year’s NOVA Nine Team, click here.

Photos by Fred Ingham