Agnos, Clancy, Hahne Earn Region 6D Honors

June 8 - Battlefield’s Zach Agnos was named the Region 6D Player of the Year while Westfield’s Joe Clancy and Rob Hahne were selected as the region’s Pitcher of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively.

Agnos, a senior shortstop and right-handed pitcher who has signed to play at East Carolina University next year, finished his fourth varsity campaign hitting .436 with 31 hits and 25 RBI while going 8-3 with a 1.78 ERA and 65 strikeouts in 55 innings. He led the Bobcats to an 18-6 season and a Cedar Run District tournament championship before falling to Westfield, 2-1, in the region semifinals.

Clancy, a University of Maryland at Baltimore County recruit, enters the Class 6 state semifinals carrying a perfect 9-0 record for the Bulldogs (23-3). The senior right-hander has posted a 0.58 ERA with 112 strikeouts to 28 walks in 60.2 innings while anchoring a pitching staff that has totaled a state-record 16 shutouts.

Westfield won its first Concorde District championship since 2010 and its first region title since 2004 under Hahne, who is in his sixth season. The Bulldogs will continue their state semifinal on Thursday against Ocean Lakes, which was postponed yesterday due to rain with Westfield leading, 7-0, in the bottom of the second inning.

Joining Agnos as the first-team all-region selections in the infield were two catchers, Yorktown senior Ben Koomey and Osbourn Park freshman A.J. Shepard, along with Battlefield senior first baseman Carter Cunningham, McLean senior second baseman Jackson Kantor, the Liberty District Player of the Year, and Herndon senior third baseman Mike Jones. The outfielders selected were McLean freshman Griffin Stieg, Battlefield senior C.J. Miles, Centreville junior Thomas Trinca and Osbourn Park junior Shane Saunders.

Clancy was joined by three other pitchers to earn first-team honors, Marshall junior Robert Kelley, Patriot junior Riley Eikhoff and Yorktown sophomore Nathan Knowles. Westfield sophomore Nick Lottchea, the Concorde District Player of the Year, was selected as the utility player and Chantilly senior Dylan Siesky was chosen as the designated hitter.

To view the entire all-region team, click here.

Photos of, from left, Battlefield’s Zach Agnos and Westfield’s Joe Clancy and Rob Hahne by Fred Ingham