Field Set for 2019 Eddie Hope "Let's Play Two" Tournament

November 11 - The area’s biggest and longest-standing spring break tournament has its 2019 field set, C.D. Hylton coach Jason Ritenour has confirmed.

Initially established in 1996 as the Eddie Hope Invitational and later named the Let’s Play Two Tournament in 2007, the two names were combined and the annual event became known as the Eddie Hope “Let’s Play Two” Tournament in 2015. This coming April, it will once again be hosted at four schools in Prince William County - Hylton, Osbourn Park, Potomac and Woodbridge.

“We are excited to again host our annual tournament,” Ritenour said. “We are fortunate to have a 16 quality programs from five counties. Without the direction of our tournament director, Dave Przybocki, the continued success of this tournament would not be possible.”

In addition to the four host schools, that field will include Brentsville District, Colgan, Colonial Forge, Edison, Fauquier, Kettle Run, Marshall, McLean, Mountain View, Rock Ridge, Stafford and T.C. Williams. Three of the schools - Brentsville District, Fauquier, Potomac - are coming off seasons in which they advanced to their respective state tournaments.

This past spring, Potomac defeated McLean, 4-2, to win its first tournament championship since 2009.

The tournament format calls for the four pool winners to advance to bracket play, with teams that don’t advance participating in consolation games. Ritenour said the tournament schedule would be set following a late-winter coaches meeting.

Teams will play their pool play games on Friday and Saturday, April 12-13, with consolation and bracket play games held on Monday, April 15 and Tuesday, April 16.

Photo of Potomac’s Brody Mack by Noah Flesichman

Past Tournament Champions:

1996 - Riverdale Baptist
1997 - Gar-Field
1998 - DeMatha Catholic
1999 - C.D. Hylton
2000 - C.D. Hylton
2001 - West Springfield
2002 - C.D. Hylton
2003 - Centreville
2004 - Potomac
2005 - Potomac/C.D. Hylton
2006 - Riverdale Baptist
2007 - Oakton
2008 - Notre Dame Academy
2009 - Potomac
2010 - Woodbridge
2011 - West Springfield
2012 - Osbourn Park
2013 - Osbourn Park
2014 - C.D. Hylton
2015 - McLean
2016 - C.D. Hylton
2017 - Kettle Run
2018 - Potomac