VHSL Appeals: Langley Remains in Class 6; Forge, ‘Ponax, Riverbend to Region 6B

September 19 - After having appeals initially rebuffed by the Virginia High School League’s realignment committee, four area schools had them approved by the VHSL’s executive committee, the state’s public schools governing body announced earlier today.

Langley, scheduled to drop to Class 5 when the new four-year alignment begins next fall, will remain in the state’s highest classification and will be slotted in Region 6D along with the other schools from the Liberty and Concorde districts along with Marshall and Wakefield from the National District.

Also winning a group appeal were Colonial Forge, Massaponax and Riverbend, which were originally set to be aligned in Region 6A along with schools from the Hampton Roads and Richmond areas but will now be slotted in Region 6B with the schools from the Prince William County-based Cardinal and Cedar Run districts.

The executive committee approved the four-year district plan that will run from the 2019-20 school year through 2022-23, and the region plan for the bottom four classifications. The region plans for Class 5 and Class 6 were not adopted, and the executive committee asked the state’s top two classifications to develop a plan to be voted on in its January meeting.

As a result of the appeals being approved, 43 of the state’s 54 schools in Class 6 will reside in the three Northern Virginia-based regions. Here is what those regions would look like should the adjusted alignment plan remain unchanged and pass in January:

Region 6A (11): Kellam, Landstown, Ocean Lakes and Tallwood from the Beach District; Grassfield, Oscar Smith and Western Branch from the Southeastern District; Cosby and James River from the Dominion District; Thomas Dale from the Central District; Franklin County from the Blue Ridge District

Region 6B (16): Battlefield, Champe, Stonewall Jackson, Osbourn, Osbourn Park and Patriot from the Cedar Run District; Colgan, Forest Park, Freedom-Woodbridge, Gar-Field, C.D. Hylton, Potomac and Woodbridge from the Cardinal District; Colonial Forge, Massaponax and Riverbend from the Commonwealth District

Region 6C (14): Annandale, Hayfield, Mount Vernon, West Potomac and T.C. Williams from the Gunston District; Fairfax, Lake Braddock, Robinson, South County, West Springfield and W.T. Woodson from the Liberty District; Edison, Falls Church and Justice from the National District

Region 6D (13): Centreville, Chantilly, Madison, Oakton and Westfield from the Concorde District; Herndon, Langley, McLean, South Lakes, Washington-Lee and Yorktown from the Liberty District; Marshall and Wakefield from the National District

Photo of Langley coach Jared Sronce by Fred Ingham